Sembabule, before it became a district, was originally part of the greater Masaka District. With effect from 1st July 1997, Sembabule attained district status with two counties namely Lwemiyaga County (comprising of Lwemiyaga and Ntuusi sub-counties), and Mawogola County comprising of Mijwala, Mateete, Lwebitakuli and Lugusuulu sub-counties and the Town Councils of Sembabule and Mateete. In total, there are 35 parishes and 402 Villages in the district.